TEL: +27 (0) 83 268 9026
+27 (0) 36 940 0131

ANY QUESTIONS FOR US?

Reviews

Elephant Rock Lodge Client Reviews
 

Michael & Marina Miller - South Africa
July 2019
We explored all areas on game drive, Stephanie was amazing and attentive to the whole groups needs

Justine Venter - South Africa
13 - 14 September 2018

All your services were of highest standard -competent and professional in every aspect!!! Rene was a joy!!

Peter & Helen Hemmerling - Germany
17 - 18 September 2018
We are traveling for 2 years in South Africa and always meet friendly people and welcoming hosts but Elephant Rock is one of the highlights. We felt really at home with the individual touch of this small lodge. The location is excellent and well maintained. The food is of high quality and tastes delicious. Thanks a lot/Baie Dankie!

Andrew & Sarah Done
July 2019
Beautiful scenary and accomodation 🙂 Steph really took the time to answer the hundreds of questions I asked. Very good knowledge. Staff kind, curtious, very helpful and always smiling

Antoinette de klerk
August 2019
Warm & enthusiastic welcome on arrival, kind and cheerful no matter what we needed. Service staff non invasive & house keeping excellent. Accomodation beautiful, clean, lovely views and very peaceful. Game drives varied with good road choices for what we wanted to see. Graeme was very proffessional and has a brilliant way of reading events in nature, unforgetable!!

William & Anne Gillies - Scottish
21 - 25 October 2018
Lovely varied menu with food beautifully cooked & presented. Catered very well for food allergies. Bennie was a great spotter and very good driver. We really appreciated the times we got to spend at sightings. It really allowed us to observe animal behaviour and interactions.

Callen Houareau
July 2019
From start to finish everything was beyond expectation! Thank you!

Sarah Mcleod
August 2019
Welcomed by the lovely team. The food throughout the stay was of quality, the service great and the menu creative. The rooms were wonderfully clean and the accomodation perfect. Graeme was knowledgable, friendly and a great host. The conversation was easy and he made each drive interesting. We learned alot!! He was authentic, ethical and explained how the bush eco system worked. Highly recommended! Thank you

Heather Gordon-Hall
August 2019
This was my second visit to Elephant Rock and the beautiful Nambiti Reserve. It is a magical place and I have loved every moment. Thank you for excellent service and accomodations. I will definitely return again and continue to rave about this place to all my overseas friends and family!

Phizacklea Family - Australia
January 2019
Yummy food, great selection offered!Absolutely outstanding game drives, Stephanie was insightful, patient and made a concious effort to help us see everything on our bucket list. 5 star service staff, knew exactly what we liked within a day. Cosy accomodation with beautiful views.

Clive & Melissa Bass - UK
24 - 27 August
Rene' and the other staff were very welcoming and couldn’t do enough to ensure that we had a lovely stay. The food and service was excellent throughout our stay. Steph was very knowledgeable and entertaining and ensured that we were able to view as much game as possible, throughout our stay. you could tell that she genuinely loves the environment she works in and is passionate about all the animals. I would definitely recommend Elephant Rock as a place to stay.

Pete & Debbie Jansen Van Vuuren
August 2019
Spacious rooms, comfortable beds & pillows. Loved the game drives, morning coffee stops & afternoon sundowners. The rangers are very friendly and their knowledge of the wildlife, vegetation & surroundings was very informative

Ann Carnegie
04 March - 06 March
The whole experience has been wonderful. I would recommend ER to everyone.

Gill and Ralph Levy
08 March - 11 March
Loved it so much we came back. We would come back again and recommend to others. Staff terrific. Nothing was too much for them. Lived up to our expectations on 2nd visit.

Ebany Bishoff
11 March - 13 March
An incredible weekend. Food fantastic. Game Drives relaxing & very knowledgeable. Thanks to all the staff at ER.

Michael Thompson
September 2019
We are repeat visitors to Elephant Rock, quiet lodge with great views of the waterhole. Game drives are always a treat. We will see you soon, thanks.

Jeff and Carol Faulkner
15 March - 18 March
Once again an outstanding stay. The staff's friendliness and welcome are first rate. ER is a little paradise in the bush

Kevin & Helen White
September 2019
Once again a very enjoyable stay. 3 days of Elephants in the dam will always be our unforgettable highlight.

Rita and Brian Fielding
20 March - 21 March
Attention to detail (the small things) that made such a difference. You guys have secured the right formula for a successful business.

Ken and Liz Wyper
21 March - 23 March
All staff both Ranger and House Staff were excellent. Very Friendly & Very efficient. We would have no hesitation in recommending friends and family to visit. Thank you.

Mike & Kathy Acutt
23 March - 25 March
Always such a treat to be here. Our meals were top notch, every time. Our game drives were absolutely amazing: Steph you are number 1. We were looked after so well, home away from home. Thank you to everyone for making our visit so special.

Andrew, Laura, Daniel & Rachel Karlsson
25 March - 27 March
From the moment we arrived, we felt relaxed and welcome. Any requests were dealt with in a friendly and efficient manner. Everyone was friendly and courteous and we felt completely relaxed and at home. The easter egg hunt was a lovely touch. Thank you to all at Elephant Rock.

Probst Germany
January 2019
We can highly recommend Elephant Rock Lodge! Very friendly staff, small, calm and private. Very competent guide, thank you!

Steve Carpenter - Britain
May 2019

We were here as an art group and had the most amazing time. Food and accomodation was brilliant. Views from the lodge are amazing. The game drives were the highlight of the stay. Our guide was so friendly and informative. His knowledge of the bush and wildlife was exceptional. We were very lucky with our sightings

Ann Kippen - Australia
12 - 14 September 2018
The staff are all so welcoming and professional and willing to make your stay memorable. The food and general service was amazing. Rooms were beautiful and clean, we loved watching the giraffe at the waterhole that our room overlooked. Game drives were amazing, Bennie went out of his way to ensure all interests were covered. He was knowledgeable and keen to share this.

Peter & Hilary Jansen - Britain
21 - 23 September 2018
Rene and all of the staff have been amazing, friendly, helpful and very professional. Every little detail has been thought of, meals delicious, rooms beautiful. Great game drives, Bennie was knowledgeable and had answers for all of our questions

Peter & Sandra van Heerden
30.09.2018 - 02.10.2018
Thank you for making my birthday celebration so special and most memorable

Mike & Kathy Acutt
September 2019
We always feel so special on arrival, top notch food and hospitality. Comfortable and stylish accomodation. Graeme is just the best, very punny! outstanding knowledge, safe and ethical.

Peter & Karine Fenton - South Africa
July 2019
Excellent meals, very comfortable chalet. Brilliant game viewing with informative and well managed drives

Nigel & Lynda Taylor
September 2019
So lovely to come back and see familiar faces who remebered us! (after a gap of nearly 2 years) We cant fault you (and wouldnt want to!) Thank you to all the team. We enjoyed the food and really appreciated flexibility in courses and portion sizes. The service staff were so helpful and sensitive - never obtrusive - ready to advise on dishes, wines etc in a kind manner. Excellent housekeeping - always clean - nothing lacking - prompt attention (thank you!) We love the accomodation upgrade - new fabric and chairs. Bronwyn was outstanding in every way and we really appreciated her passion. She was enormous fun to go birding with! Excellent knowledge, we learned alot we didnt know and enjoyed finding out things together. We were impressed with Bronwyns care, not just for us but for the animals too! We cant come to Elephant Rock too often but whenever we do its like coming home!

Charles Raaff
July 2019
Very friendly and welcoming check in. Lovely variety of food with great choices on the menu. Helpful and accomodating service staff, always smiling. Clean rooms! Loved the electric blankets kept us nice & snug! Fntastic sightings, the vehicle was comfortable and so much fun to be on. From the 3 course meals to the cozy chalets, hot water bottles & blankets on game drives, paired with amzing sightings, we will absolutely be back 🙂

Kelly Hawes - Australia
January 2019
Absolutely amazing! Steph is so friendly and made us feel right at home. The lodge is absolutley stunning and I feel like I could just stay here forever! Bennie was an incredible guide! So knowledgeable and keen to show us everything! We really enjoyed our game drives and feel so lucky to have seen all the amazing animals we did

 

Dave & Ilse Mitchell
January 2019
Brilliant!!! Steph you were amazing!! an asset to Elephant Rock 🙂

Elizabeth Richards and Kathryn Saunders
04 March - 06 March
We had an incredible stay. Everything was perfect.hope we can come again

Kate Van Rooyen
04 March - 06 March
Matt made me feel that much closer to nature. A wonderful experience and matt taught us to much about the bush. His general knowledge is amazing and his interest in his clients really is appreciated. Lee-Ann has been a pleasure to deal with and the staff tip top. Steve with his smiling welcome was always lovely to see.

Gary and Linda Stephen
08 March - 11 March
What a fantastic stay. Never return to a place twice but would definitly come time and time again. Graeme, Rene are just brillian as was Lee-Ann and all the other staff. Food is 1st class.

Terry and Kirsty Horne
11 March - 13 March
An absolutely outstanding time. Thank you so much. Your friendliness and homely welcome made every aspect of our visit impossible to beat. We love Graeme and would request him again. Thank you so much for an incredible weekend. We have been blessed.

David and Nila Ryan
13 March - 15 March
Rene was a brilliant hostess, she was friendly and always went the extra mile and gave her personal touch. Rene was fantastic. Graeme was an excellent ranger he always had the guests best interest at heart, he was very knowledgeable and kept us safe at all times. He made the best hot chocolate.

Jenny Tinmouth
15 March - 18 March
Absolutely fabulous. Can't get enough of the total experience - amazing.

Chris Carlisle - Kitz and Anna-Lee Dos Santos
18 March - 20 March
I have been on many safaris starting as a child, youth and young man in East Africa then here in South Africa at such places as Mala Mala, Kirkmans Camp and lots of Northern Natal Reserves and others up and down the country. Nambiti was for us the best. Not too large that animal viewing was drawn out and not too small that would not contain most of the wide range found here. The Hospitality was outstanding without being in your face. The position of the lodge was great and peaceful. Graeme Wheeler the guide was superb, his knowledge, his manner, his soft humour and his sincerity made the whole experience truly unforgettable.

Tara and Chloe
20 March - 21 March
Our Stay has been amazing and not long enough. The staff, food, accommodation and game drives surpassed all of our expectations. We can't wait for our next visit.

Meghan & Hannah Acutt
September 2019
Loved the melon salad - divine! Stunning accomodation! Graeme is excellent!

Ted & Cherri Standfield
September 2019
Excellent!! We mean that!!

Stig & Mary Karlsson
25 March - 27 March
Our stay was made perfect by the friendly attention of your well trained staff. The food was top notch.

Gouws South Africa
February 2019
In one word, we have to say Awesome! Thanks for making our visit an unforgettable experience, you guys rock! pardon the pun! Been coming to Elephant Rock for a number of years and it never dissapoints! This time round it was no different.

Denise Eriksen & Sue Spencer NZ & Australia
May 2019
Rene is fantastic - as are the other staff. We loved game drive! So many animals & birds to enjoy, our ranger had fantastic knowledge

Philipp Weber - Germany
14 - 17 September 2018
Beautiful chalets, perfect view to waterholes. Perfect lunch, snacks & amazing dinner. Game drives were a great experience with different highlights each drive.

Callula Clay-Smith
July 2019
The food was beyond delicious. The variety offered gave opportunity for choice. The service staff were always available and extremely efficient. My room was in a pristine state and my personal items handled with care. All the drives were fun and interesting. Bronwyn was able to answer all our questions and went the extra mile to show us interesting things

Hans & Paddy Thevenau
27.09.2018 - 30.09.2018
We felt like royalty with an outstanding welcome, every tiny detail was seen to. Wonderful table setup, exceptionally creative. Service staff always with a smile and very attentive. Rooms spotless with a very proffessional turn down made us feel extra special. Accomodation outstanding in all aspects! Loved the fragrant face cloths, a winner!! Thank you for looking after us so well and making our stay extra special!!!

Tom & Floor Lutener- UK & Dutch
19 - 21 October 2018
We loved every minute of being here. Its beautiful & peaceful. Accomodation is stunning. People are all amazing & friendly and we'd like to come back next month if we could 🙂 Thanks for everything

Robin & Monica Powell
02.11.2018 - 04.11.2018
Very warm & friendly welcome. The accomodation is very spacious, super clean and everything we needed. We were so impressed with Stephanie, her knowledge and enthusiasm was amazing

Hazel Parsons - South Africa
23 - 25 November 2018
We had a very enjoyable weekend at Elephant Rock. Very welcoming & friendly staff, good game viewing, the small, intimate & family atmosphere will bring me here again.

June Havard UK
August 2019
Made to feel welcome immediatly. Housekeeping exemplary, the service staff couldnt do any more to help, very friendly. Beatiful rooms in an amazing setting overlooking a water hole. First rate game drives

Jenny Boden - South Africa & Australia
January 2019
What a warm friendly welcome! We felt at home immediatly . We were made to feel very special and nothing was too much trouble. Genuine lovely people. Delicious food, each meal was memorable. Thank you for the great vegetarian options for my daughter. The rooms were spotless with very special touches (rose petals & candles on the bath!!) Outstanding luxurious accomodation, beautifuly decorated with an unbelivable view from the swinging chairs. Game drives were absolutly fantastic! We saw so much and loved the coffee and drinks breaks. Bennie was an excellent guide who made us feel so welcome and special. Very knowledgeable with an obvious passion and respect for the bush. Thank you SO much! we will take a part of Elephant Rock with us in our hearts . . . until next time!

Napier Family - UK
January 2019
Staff helpful and welcoming from start to finish. Polite and attentive to all needs, cheerful and smiling, ready to meet all and any requests. Rooms clean and tidy, comfortable and a pleasure to stay in. Excellent food, brilliant game drives. Stephanie was friendly, accomodationg and full of knowledge. Her smiley welcome and illuminating commentary made the experience all the more informative.

Clive & Melissa Bass - UK
24 - 27 August
Rene' and the other staff were very welcoming and couldn’t do enough to ensure that we had a lovely stay. The food and service was excellent throughout our stay. Steph was very knowledgeable and entertaining and ensured that we were able to view as much game as possible, throughout our stay. you could tell that she genuinely loves the environment she works in and is passionate about all the animals. I would definitely recommend Elephant Rock as a place to stay.

Cartyl Peatt
04 March - 06 March
No complaints. Matt was a delightful young man with excellent knowledge and skills.

Bob and Helen Craven
04 March - 06 March
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The staff were very good, welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. Saw lots of game. Learned lot of new things.

Calvin Rogers & Nadine Crank
September 2019
Quite a surprise to be welcomed so nicely by all the staff. Fantastic hospitality! Would gladly come back for another visit. Game drives were an amazing experience. Steph was not only friendly with us and answered every question but also gives you info you never would have known.

Mark and Linda Horne
11 March - 13 March
What a unique lodge, small and intimate with umbelieveable attention to detail. What wonderfull staff, warm, friendly and making us feel like royalty. Cant wait to be back

Kevin & Lynda Rainier
September 2019
Really had a great sty. Wonderful sightings, Graeme was very knowledgable.

Francis and Fiona Carlisle - Kitz
18 March - 20 March
The whole experience at ER has been superb.

Abi James and Ellie Taylor
20 March - 21 March
Fantastic Staff and lodge. Loved every minute.

Dave and Judith Montgomery
21 March - 23 March
We have had a wonderful stay at ER. Everything has been first class - from start to finish. We would recommend it to everyone.

Sheena Brown
21 March - 23 March
An absolutely awedome experience. A warm & welcome, delicious food & chilled wine. Thanks.

Sheena Brown
21 March - 23 March
An absolutely awesome experience. A warm & welcome, delicious food & chilled wine. Thanks.

Ken & Linda Hirsh USA
January 2019
We have stayed in five of the Nambiti Reserve Lodges and Elephant Rock easily rises to the top of our wish list. We are wowed by the beauty and intimacy of the 5 room camp. The suites are very private and each affords a view of the watering hole. Whether swinging in hammock chairs or lounging by the waterfall pool, it is easy to be transported by the sounds and silence of the bush. The camp is beautifully situated, handsomely landscaped and well maintained. Steve is a hands on manager, he and Rene orchestrate a top notch staff that both collectively and individually make you feel like one of the family. Stephanies knowledge and tenacity, render each game drive an experience to remember. She has a sense of wit and culture, and uses both to keep everyone engaged - whether learning about lions or zulu homesteads. We will definitely be back - hopefully next year. In the mean time we wish the entire Elephant Rock team continued success - and bush happiness!

Leslie Davis USA

January 2019

Could not be more impressed, Rene is an example of how to welcome guests and make them feel at home. She always went the extra mile to fulfill our wishes. The food was not only delicious but a treat to the eyes, cudos to the chefs. Beatiful lodgings, great ambiance & atmosphere, everyone was cheerful and helpful. Stephanie was a superb guide, both friendly and informative. Steve and Rene were also wonderful, we really appreciated the extra effort that went into preparing our sundowner to celebrate several birthdays and a 25th wedding anniversary. I would highly recommend Elephant Rock to anyone who wants to visit a game reserve