TEL: +27 (0) 83 268 9026
+27 (0) 36 940 0131

ANY QUESTIONS FOR US?

Reviews

Elephant Rock Lodge Client Reviews
 

Charl & Jo Kirsten - Howick
05.10.2018 - 07.10.2018
Felt like just the other day we were here on honeymoon & this time was even better.
Imagine what 10 years will be like!
Thank you for accommodationg Charl's dietary requirements.
Bennie was brilliant! Tracking Lions until we found them was a huge highlight for us!

Justine Venter - South Africa
13 - 14 September 2018

All your services were of highest standard -competent and professional in every aspect!!! Rene was a joy!!

Peter & Helen Hemmerling - Germany
17 - 18 September 2018
We are traveling for 2 years in South Africa and always meet friendly people and welcoming hosts but Elephant Rock is one of the highlights. We felt really at home with the individual touch of this small lodge. The location is excellent and well maintained. The food is of high quality and tastes delicious. Thanks a lot/Baie Dankie!

Ann Smelser
24 - 26 September 2018
The whole trip has been absolutely amazing. Every one has been very nice to us, the food, drinks and bush snacks were awesome!!! The group dining gave us a chance to meet so many people. From Tennessee USA this has been the trip of a lifetime. Thank you so much!

Ulla - Germany
07.10.2018 - 14.10.2018
Thank you very much! It has been a wonderful week at Elephant Rock Lodge. Every single person from the staff went the extra mile and made our groupfeel very welcome. A special thanks to Rene for helping out and always having an extra encouraging word 🙂 You can feel how much Stephanie loves the animals. Her driving is excellent and her calm and friendly way of communication makes you feel safe and welcome. I really hope I will be back one day!

William & Anne Gillies - Scottish
21 - 25 October 2018
Lovely varied menu with food beautifully cooked & presented. Catered very well for food allergies. Bennie was a great spotter and very good driver. We really appreciated the times we got to spend at sightings. It really allowed us to observe animal behaviour and interactions.

Carl Hintze & Jean Mitchell - South Africa
04.11.2018 - 07.11.2018
We commend Rene and all the staff for excellence. Chalets spic & span! Bennie was outstanding in being able to answer all our questions

Leon Isaacs
28 - 30 November 2018
Felt welcomed immediately with friendly faces, courteous service and hard to choose between all the fantastic food choices. Rooms were perfectly serviced daily, very comfortable beds. The game drives exceeded all our expectations, Stephanie was superb. She was knowledgable and answered all our questions.

Hendricks Family - Ballito
13 - 16 September
Thank you for an absolutely unforgettable experience. The attention to detail and the wonderful service for superseded our expectations. The Food! The Game Drives! We would never write enough. We hope to see you again soon

Annetta and Chad Taggart - Newcastle
29 - 01 September
We were made to feel very welcome, had a great break away. Will recommend to others. Thank you for the hospitality and friendliness

Clive & Melissa Bass - UK
24 - 27 August
Rene' and the other staff were very welcoming and couldn’t do enough to ensure that we had a lovely stay. The food and service was excellent throughout our stay. Steph was very knowledgeable and entertaining and ensured that we were able to view as much game as possible, throughout our stay. you could tell that she genuinely loves the environment she works in and is passionate about all the animals. I would definitely recommend Elephant Rock as a place to stay.

David & Helen Harrow
29 February- 03 March
We were happy with the manner in which we were treated. The staff carried out their tasks with care & attention.

Ann Carnegie
04 March - 06 March
The whole experience has been wonderful. I would recommend ER to everyone.

Gill and Ralph Levy
08 March - 11 March
Loved it so much we came back. We would come back again and recommend to others. Staff terrific. Nothing was too much for them. Lived up to our expectations on 2nd visit.

Ebany Bishoff
11 March - 13 March
An incredible weekend. Food fantastic. Game Drives relaxing & very knowledgeable. Thanks to all the staff at ER.

Tobie and Janine Joubert
11 March - 13 March
Thembine, Zanele, Rene Lee-Ann, Graeme amazing thank you for making our first lodge stay absolutely awesome!!! Really hope we can show our girls the Big 5 (big and small ) here .

Jeff and Carol Faulkner
15 March - 18 March
Once again an outstanding stay. The staff's friendliness and welcome are first rate. Er is a little paradise in the bush

Richard and Meryl Edwards
18 March - 20 March
All members were exemplary and make our stay very welcome. Very knowledgeable tour guide.

Rita and Brian Fielding
20 March - 21 March
Attention to detail (the small things) that made such a difference. You guys have secured the right formula for a successful business.

Ken and Liz Wyper
21 March - 23 March
All staff both Ranger and House Staff were excellent. Very Friendly & Very efficient. We would have no hesitation in recommending friends and family to visit. Thank you.

Mike & Kathy Acutt
23 March - 25 March
Always such a treat to be here. Our meals were top notch, every time. Our game drives were absolutely amazing: Steph you are number 1. We were looked after so well, home away from home. Thank you to everyone for making our visit so special.

Andrew, Laura, Daniel & Rachel Karlsson
25 March - 27 March
From the moment we arrived, we felt relaxed and welcome. Any requests were dealt with in a friendly and efficient manner. Everyone was friendly and courteous and we felt completely relaxed and at home. The easter egg hunt was a lovely touch. Thank you to all at Elephant Rock.

Lovell Family
27 March - 29 March
We were so happy with our choice of Elephant Rock lodge. Great quality, but unpretentious and authentic. Staff were all great, and Stephanie was an absolute superstar. A fantastic experience all round. And Ruby was great t0o!

Chanel Roos - Cape Town
02.10.2018 - 04.10.2018
I loved the warm towels and sherry or hot chocolate that welcomed us back after our game drives - such a personal touch.
Thank you for our champagne and rose petal welcome on night 2 for the celebration of our marriage.
This mini-moon was excellent and we will definately be returning.

Bennie was an excellent ranger that was very friendly and welcoming. He educated us throughout our drives about the animals, farm and the area. We saw some magical sightings and were well taken care of. Thank you!!

Ann Kippen - Australia
12 - 14 September 2018
The staff are all so welcoming and professional and willing to make your stay memorable. The food and general service was amazing. Rooms were beautiful and clean, we loved watching the giraffe at the waterhole that our room overlooked. Game drives were amazing, Bennie went out of his way to ensure all interests were covered. He was knowledgeable and keen to share this.

Peter & Hilary Jansen - Britain
21 - 23 September 2018
Rene and all of the staff have been amazing, friendly, helpful and very professional. Every little detail has been thought of, meals delicious, rooms beautiful. Great game drives, Bennie was knowledgeable and had answers for all of our questions

Peter & Sandra van Heerden
30.09.2018 - 02.10.2018
Thank you for making my birthday celebration so special and most memorable

Anne Pohl - South Africa
14 - 17 October 2018
We are so glad that we stayed in this small intimate lodge. Every body was so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent along with everything else. Bennie our field guide went out of his way to show us different aspects of the reserve. Well done all and thank you very much

Kevin & Cathy Jones - South Africa
26.10.2018 - 29.10.2018
Absolutely wonderful, the whole lodge made us feel at home and very welcome. Thank you so much Stephanie for excellent and outstanding game drives

Sandy & Phyllis Hattingh
08.11.2018 -10.11.2018
Thank you for a lovely stay, it was the little things that made it special, the rose petals, the warm towels after game drive, the beautiful personalised card and the welcome letter.  I really tried to rate something 4 out of 5 but could not! 6 out of 5, I was super impressed. Bennie was professional, knowledgeable and had a sense of humour. Good people skills! I loved my stay here, could not have asked for anything more

Callum and Heather Finlayson - PMB
04 - 06 September
An absolutely awesome stay. Nothing to fault in any area at all. Not a single complaint the entire stay. Well done to the entire team, front and back end staff. A truly memorable stay

Peter and Bev Thomas - Atlanta USA
30 - 02 September
All staff went out of their way to be accommodating, Rene especially helpful with helping find us a way to charge our camera. Found Stephanie’s insight and knowledge of the animals etc to be very helpful.

Darrol & Felicity Crouch - Hillcrest
19 - 21 August
Thank you for a wonderful stay. Felt part of the family. Everything was excellent. Will certainly recommend Elephant Rock to others. Wonderful game drives, learnt so much. Thank you.

Elizabeth Richards and Kathryn Saunders
04 March - 06 March
We had an incredible stay. Everything was perfect.hope we can come again

Kate Van Rooyen
04 March - 06 March
Matt made me feel that much closer to nature. A wonderful experience and matt taught us to much about the bush. His general knowledge is amazing and his interest in his clients really is appreciated. Lee-Ann has been a pleasure to deal with and the staff tip top. Steve with his smiling welcome was always lovely to see.

Gary and Linda Stephen
08 March - 11 March
What a fantastic stay. Never return to a place twice but would definitly come time and time again. Graeme, Rene are just brillian as was Lee-Ann and all the other staff. Food is 1st class.

Terry and Kirsty Horne
11 March - 13 March
An absolutely outstanding time. Thank you so much. Your friendliness and homely welcome made every aspect of our visit impossible to beat. We love Graeme and would request him again. Thank you so much for an incredible weekend. We have been blessed.

David and Nila Ryan
13 March - 15 March
Rene was a brilliant hostess, she was friendly and always went the extra mile and gave her personal touch. Rene was fantastic. Graeme was an excellent ranger he always had the guests best interest at heart, he was very knowledgeable and kept us safe at all times. He made the best hot chocolate.

Jenny Tinmouth
15 March - 18 March
Absolutely fabulous. Can't get enough of the total experience - amazing.

Chris Carlisle - Kitz and Anna-Lee Dos Santos
18 March - 20 March
I have been on many safaris starting as a child, youth and young man in East Africa then here in South Africa at such places as Mala Mala, Kirkmans Camp and lots of Northern Natal Reserves and others up and down the country. Nambiti was for us the best. Not too large that animal viewing was drawn out and not too small that would not contain most of the wide range found here. The Hospitality was outstanding without being in your face. The position of the lodge was great and peaceful. Graeme Wheeler the guide was superb, his knowledge, his manner, his soft humour and his sincerity made the whole experience truly unforgettable.

Tara and Chloe
20 March - 21 March
Our Stay has been amazing and not long enough. The staff, food, accommodation and game drives surpassed all of our expectations. We can't wait for our next visit.

Bert and Jill Ewing
21 March - 23 March
a perfect holiday

Diane Cormac
25 March - 27 March
Best game lodge experience out of many I have been to. Exclusive, attention to detail and overall excellence in all aspects of stay. Will definitely be back. Saw cheetah, Lion, Elephant, Hippo mom and baby out of the water and lots of other wildlife.

Stig & Mary Karlsson
25 March - 27 March
Our stay was made perfect by the friendly attention of your well trained staff. The food was top notch.

Peter, Chantal and Blythe Sargent
29 March - 31 March
Thank you for a memorable game reserve experience - the attention to detail is second to none. You even got me my boschendal blanc de noir - thank you. The setting overlooking the dam, with the swing chairs - the deck and enclosed private outdoor shower were the highlight - and the fluffy white towels.

Sharon Chance - British
01.10.2018 - 04.10.2018
Intimate setting adds to the experience.
Excellent Veggie options.

Philipp Weber - Germany
14 - 17 September 2018
Beautiful chalets, perfect view to waterholes. Perfect lunch, snacks & amazing dinner. Game drives were a great experience with different highlights each drive.

Alisa Byrd - USA
24 - 26 September 2018
A welcome with a drink and a smile, excellent food with plenty to eat. Clean, neat rooms with excellent accomodation. Knowledgable game drives with sightings of many animals each time

Hans & Paddy Thevenau
27.09.2018 - 30.09.2018
We felt like royalty with an outstanding welcome, every tiny detail was seen to. Wonderful table setup, exceptionally creative. Service staff always with a smile and very attentive. Rooms spotless with a very proffessional turn down made us feel extra special. Accomodation outstanding in all aspects! Loved the fragrant face cloths, a winner!! Thank you for looking after us so well and making our stay extra special!!!

Tom & Floor Lutener- UK & Dutch
19 - 21 October 2018
We loved every minute of being here. Its beautiful & peaceful. Accomodation is stunning. People are all amazing & friendly and we'd like to come back next month if we could 🙂 Thanks for everything

Robin & Monica Powell
02.11.2018 - 04.11.2018
Very warm & friendly welcome. The accomodation is very spacious, super clean and everything we needed. We were so impressed with Stephanie, her knowledge and enthusiasm was amazing

Hazel Parsons - South Africa
23 - 25 November 2018
We had a very enjoyable weekend at Elephant Rock. Very welcoming & friendly staff, good game viewing, the small, intimate & family atmosphere will bring me here again.

MJ Geerligs - Netherlands
28 - 01 September
All in all very good. This has been our second visit to this lodge. We had a wonderful stay and when in the area we will be back for more. We will recommend Elephant Rock to friends and family.

Atlanta USA - Cape Town
02 - 04 September
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, amazing attention to detail very warm and friendly. Steph was fab, so knowledgeable and made sure every drive catered to our animal sightings wishes:) Food was tasty and there was a lot variety, it was great that hosts were always very accommodating with dietary requirements and alternatives. Just loved it

Tibby Burger - New Zealand
24 - 27 August
I have had the privilege of visiting private game lodges before and without a doubt this was superior in many respects. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending your lodge& hope to visit again soon. Special mention to Steph, for her friendliness and professionalism. To Rene' & staff, the food was amazing and need to go on a serious diet from tomorrow.

Clive & Melissa Bass - UK
24 - 27 August
Rene' and the other staff were very welcoming and couldn’t do enough to ensure that we had a lovely stay. The food and service was excellent throughout our stay. Steph was very knowledgeable and entertaining and ensured that we were able to view as much game as possible, throughout our stay. you could tell that she genuinely loves the environment she works in and is passionate about all the animals. I would definitely recommend Elephant Rock as a place to stay.

Cartyl Peatt
04 March - 06 March
No complaints. Matt was a delightful young man with excellent knowledge and skills.

Bob and Helen Craven
04 March - 06 March
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The staff were very good, welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. Saw lots of game. Learned lot of new things.

Sam Hudspith
09 March - 11 March
Would not change a thing

Mark and Linda Horne
11 March - 13 March
What a unique lodge, small and intimate with umbelieveable attention to detail. What wonderfull staff, warm, friendly and making us feel like royalty. Cant wait to be back

John McBride
13 March - 15 March
Very enjoyable 2 days. Peaceful, tranquil setting which made me think deeply about things that matter most to me.

Francis and Fiona Carlisle - Kitz
18 March - 20 March
The whole experience at ER has been superb.

Abi James and Ellie Taylor
20 March - 21 March
Fantastic Staff and lodge. Loved every minute.

Dave and Judith Montgomery
21 March - 23 March
We have had a wonderful stay at ER. Everything has been first class - from start to finish. We would recommend it to everyone.

Sheena Brown
21 March - 23 March
An absolutely awedome experience. A warm & welcome, delicious food & chilled wine. Thanks.

Sheena Brown
21 March - 23 March
An absolutely awesome experience. A warm & welcome, delicious food & chilled wine. Thanks.

Robyn Bechard
27 March - 29 March
I had a lovely stay, the staff were all outstanding. Thank you so much.

Cathy Moncrief
31 March - 01 April
Love it would come back.